RIFF ON THE IMPORTANCE OF MUSIC IN RIVER BEND CHRONICLE

Back then, it often seemed like I kept myself going–kept myself alive even–simply by putting another scratched record on the old machine, hearing a voice emerge intact and vibrant from the crackle of what sounded like flames–old discs like those I’ll be playing tonight at Prairie Lights bookstore in Iowa City, and tomorrow at New Bo Books in Cedar Rapids–“Signing the Blues” and “Ostrich Walk” (Frankie Trumbauer and his Orchestra, featuring Bix Beiderbecke), “Me and the Blues” (Mildred Bailey), “Buddy Bolden’s Blues” (Jelly Roll Morton), “I Want a Little Girl” (Count Basie and his Nonet), “Autumn in New York” (Billie Holiday), “Tears! Tears! Tears!” (Otis Blackwell), “Blue Monday” (Fats Domino), “Mockin’ Bird Hill” (Les Paul), “My Baby’s Coming Home,” (Les Paul and Mary Ford), “What Is This Thing Called Love?” (Leslie Hutchinson), “Nightmare” (Artie Shaw and His Orchestra)… 

One thought on “RIFF ON THE IMPORTANCE OF MUSIC IN RIVER BEND CHRONICLE

  1. To Ben. I certainly don’t expect you to remember me, but I definitely remember you. We went to Sudlow together and Central in high school. I left for a few years with a part of my family and lived in Texas and Louisiana from 8th grade til 11th. You tried to encourage me to write, which I did some, but life got in the way and I gave up any ideas of writing for a living. I am so happy for you that you have been successful with pursuing(did I misspell that) your dreams. You were truly a wonderful person and it sounds like you still are. If you ever want to contact me, I am on Facebook or just use my email I left on this page. I know your a busy man but I hope you will reach out to me. Jim kundert.

Leave a Reply

